Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month

The Rimington Trophy Committee is Pleased to Announce Its 2016 Finalists

12/05/2016 5:30 AM -



The Rimington Trophy Committee is Pleased to Announce Its 2016 Finalists

Pat Elflein, OSU; Tyler Orlosky, WVU; and Ethan Pocic, LSU


New York, NY – December 2016


The Rimington Trophy Committee announced its three 2016 finalists for the most outstanding center in college football. They are:


Pat Elflein, The Ohio State University

Ohio State senior Pat Elflein was named the Big Ten Conference’s Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year this season and was a first-team all-Big Ten choice for the third consecutive year. In addition to being named a finalist for the Rimington Trophy, Elflein is a finalist for the Outland Trophy and one of 20 players under consideration for the Lombardi Award. A team captain and a starter in 40 consecutive games, Elflein and his commanding presence has anchored an Ohio State offensive line that ranks ninth nationally in rushing at 258.3 yards per game and is one of three units selected as finalists for the Joe Moore Offensive Line of the Year Award.


Tyler Orlosky, West Virginia University

Tyler Orlosky, two-time team captain and Midseason All-American (USA Today and at West Virginia University, has played 49 career games and started 41, all at the center position. While grading out at 90% or higher every game for the past two years, he has helped lead West Virginia’s offense to average 506.9 yards of total offense per game – which puts them at number 12 nationally. Off the field, Orlosky excels as well and was named a three-time All-Big 12 Academic team honoree, to the Big 12 Conference Commissioner’s Honor Roll, WVU’s Garrett Ford Academic Honor Roll, and earned the Louis D. Meisel Award for the highest senior GPA on the football team.


Ethan Pocic, LSU

As one of the top offensive linemen in LSU’s history, Ethan Pocic has started all 11 2016 games for the Tigers, 10 at center and one at right tackle. He led all LSU offensive linemen in snaps (680), knockdowns (92), and “great effort” plays (33). Pocic had double-digit knockdown blocks in four games, had a season-high 14 knockdowns in a win over Texas A&M, and gave up just one sack all season. Because of his exemplary play, he earned the SEC Offensive Lineman of the Week honor three times in games versus Missouri, Ole Miss, and Arkansas. With Pocic at center, the LSU offense averaged 238.1 rushing yards per game and allowed only 18 sacks all season, the second-lowest total in the SEC.


The winner of the Rimington Trophy will be presented live during the ESPNU Red Carpet Show on Thursday, December 8, 2016, immediately preceding the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show. Both shows, will originate from the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Georgia.


The winner of the Rimington Trophy is selected by determining the consensus All-American center pick from three existing All-America teams. While more than a dozen All-America teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee used these three prestigious teams to determine a winner:


·       Walter Camp Foundation (WCF)

·       Sporting News (SN)

·       Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)



The winner will be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on Saturday, January 14, 2017. To learn more about the Rimington Trophy or to purchase tickets to the event, please visit


The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 22 awards boast 742 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.


About the Rimington Trophy

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the sixteen-year old award has raised over $2.75 million for the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $120 million for CF Research. Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only two-time winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman. For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit


About the Boomer Esiason Foundation

BEF supports the cystic fibrosis community through scholarship grants, transplant grants, exercise programs, and educational programs as well as funding CF research. To date, BEF has raised over $120 million. Please visit to learn more about our programs, to join the team, and follow us at and on Twitter @cysticfibrosis.


About Cystic Fibrosis

Cystic Fibrosis is a rare, inherited, chronic disease that affects the lungs, digestive system, and reproductive system of about 30,000 Americans by causing a thick build-up of mucus that leads to blockage, inflammation, and infection.


Rimington Trophy Media Contact

Michelle Pelini


[email protected]