Selection Process

Rimington Trophy

The Rimington Trophy is awarded to the most outstanding center in NCAA Division FBS football.

Rimington Trophy Selection

The winner of the Rimington Trophy will be selected by determining the consensus All-American center pick from three existing All-America Teams.

While more than a dozen All-America football teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee will use these prestigious teams to determine a winner:

  • Walter Camp Foundation (WCF)
  • Sporting News (SN)
  • Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)

The Rimington Trophy will also use these teams to determine the winner of the center award. Because the selectors of these All-America teams can place centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two centers. Our policy will be to count all players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams as centers, even though they maybe listed as guards or tackles on the three All-American teams.

The center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the center with most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by the Rimington Trophy committee with information provided by Pro Football Focus. Since 2006, PFF has separated themselves from the pack in their ability to provide game-changing data supported through studying every player, on every player, of every game. In 2014, they began to do so for college football, too.