Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month

2015 Spring Watch List is Released

05/19/2015 11:53 AM -

 The Rimington Trophy Committee has released its 2015 Spring Watch List, which includes 52 of the best centers in Division I football. The athletes included on this list have demonstrated excellence at the center position in the past and are predicted to do so again in the 2015-2016 season.

The following is a list of those named to the 2015 Spring Watch List: 
Conference  School First Name  Last Name  Class Year Height  Weight 
Am. Athl.            
  Cincinnatti Deyshawn Bond JR 6'2 298
  Connecticut Ryan Crozier SO 6'4 294
  Memphis Gabe Kuhn RS SO 6'4 290
  SMU Taylor Lasecki SR 6'2 294
  Temple Kyle  Friend SR 6'2 305
  Clemson Ryan  Norton SR 6'3 285
  Duke Matt Skura RS SR 6'4 305
  Georgia Tech Freddie Burden RS JR 6'3 302
  North Carolina Lucas  Crowley JR 6'3 290
  Pittsburgh Alex Officer RS SO 6'4 335
Big Ten            
  Iowa  Austin Blythe SR 6'3 290
  Michigan State Jack Allen RS SR 6'2 295
  Ohio State Jacoby Boren SR 6'2 285
  Purdue Robert Kugler SR 6'3 294
  Wisconsin  Dan Voltz JR 6'3 311
Big 12             
  Baylor  Kyle  Fuller JR 6'5 305
  Oklahoma Ty Darlington SR 6'2 299
  TCU Joey  Hunt SR 6'3 295
  Texas Taylor Doyle SR 6'4 303
  Texas Tech Jared Kaster SR 6'3 293
  West Virginia  Tyler  Orlosky RS JR 6'4 297
  Louisiana Tech Kirby Wixson SR 6'4 325
  Marshall Michael Selby JR 6'2 276
  Middle Tennessee Josh Chester RS JR 6'3 305
  North Texas Kaydon Kirby JR 6'3 329
  UTEP Eric  Lee SR 6'1 295
  WKU Max Halpin RS JR 6'3 295
  Ball State Jacob Richard RS SR 6'1 275
  Bowling Green Tim McAullife RS SO 6'0 275
  Central Mich. Nick Beamish SR 6'3 310
  Eastern Mich. Jake Hurcombe RS JR 6'1 295
  Massachusetts Matt Sparks SR 6'4 280
  Northern Illinois Andrew Ness SR 6'3 298
Mtn. West            
  Boise State Marcus Henry RS SR 6'3 296
  Fresno State Bo Bonnheim SR 6'2 283
  Utah State Austin Stephens JR 6'3 305
  Arizona State Nick Kelly SR 6'2 294
  Colorado Alex Kelley JR 6'2 310
  Oregon State Josh  Mitchell SR 6'3 306
  Stanford Graham  Shuler SR 6'4 287
  UCLA Jake Brendel RS SR 6'4 285
  USC Max Tuerk SR 6'6 285
  Utah  Siaosi Aiono SR 6'2 305
  Alabama Ryan Kelly SR 6'5 301
  Arkansas Mitch Smothers SR 6'3 315
  Kentucky Jon Toth  JR 6'5 295
  LSU Ethan Pocic JR 6'7 301
  Missouri Evan Boehm SR 6'3 320
  South Carolina Alan Knott RS SO 6'4 268
  Texas A&M Mike  Matthews SR 6'2 290
  Vanderbilt Spencer Pulley RS SR 6'4 305
Sun Belt            
  Troy  Dalton  Bennett SR 6'3 301
  Army  Matt Hugenberg SR 6'5 309
  Notre Dame  Nick Martin Grad. 6'4.5 301


While more than a dozen All-America teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee used these three prestigious teams to determine a winner:


·       Walter Camp Foundation (WCF)

·       Sporting News (SN)

·       Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)


Because the selectors of these three All-America teams can place centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11- man first teams can often have two centers. The Rimington Trophy committee's policy is to count all players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams as centers, even though they may be listed as guards or tackles on the four All- America teams.


The center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the center with the most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by a majority vote from the Rimington Trophy committee. The winner will be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on Saturday, January 16, 2016.


* * *


About the Rimington Trophy

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2.6 million for the cystic fibrosis community. The award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $115 million for CF Research.


Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.


For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit


About the NCFAA

The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 679 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about its story.