Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month

Announcing the 2014 Rimington Award Recipients of the NCAA’s FCS, II, III, and NAIA Divisions

12/17/2014 10:01 AM -

New York, NY – The Rimington Trophy committee is proud to announce the recipients of the 2014 Rimington Award, recognizing the most outstanding centers in the NCAA’s FCS, Division II, Division III and NAIA. The Rimington Award is named after Dave Rimington, the only two-time winner of the Outland Trophy in addition to back to back first team All-American selections for the Nebraska Cornhuskers.

Cornelius Edison of Portland State headlines the 2014 Rimington Award winners as the most outstanding center in the NCAA FCS Division. Edison, a senior from University Place, Washington, was a 1st Team All Big Sky Conference selection this season; the third time he garnered postseason accolades from the conference. Edison anchored an offensive line that allowed the fewest sacks in the conference while rushing for 2500 yards on the season.

Jack Abercrombie of California University of Pennsylvania is the NCAA DII winner of the Rimington award. Abercrombie, a senior from Horsham, Pennsylvania, anchored an offensive line that helped Cal U average 447.6 yards of total offense and 38.1 points per game. Abercrombie has garnered many postseason awards as a student athlete as he was named to the All-American team, the Capital One Academic All-District team by the College Sports Information Directors of America (COSIDA), and was also a two-year team captain.

Spencer Clark of Wheaton College is the NCAA DIII recipient of this year’s Rimington Award. Clark, a senior from Waycross, Georgia, was named a first team All-American this year by the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA). He is also a three time College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin (CCIW) postseason honoree as well as a postseason award winner for Clark was part of an offensive line that averaged 179.7 yards rushing per game and 239.1 passing yards per game.

David Stochlin of Benedictine College (Kansas) is the selection to win the NAIA division’s Rimington Award. Stochlin, a senior from Miami, Florida, was an AFCA NAIA First Team All-American selection, a Heart of America Athletic Conference first team selection and a 2014 team captain. He anchored an offensive line that averaged 425.3 total yards this season, 219 yards per game on the ground. He was also named a First Team All-American by the Victory Sports Network .

The annual Rimington Trophy Presentation will be held January 17, 2015, at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska. The winner of the Rimington Trophy for the NCAA’s FBS division was announced as University of Auburn center Reese Dismukes.



Three years after the Boomer Esiason Foundation launched the Rimington Trophy for the outstanding NCAA Division I-A center, it expanded that honor to include Divisions I-AA, II, III, and the NAIA. In 2008, Division I-A was renamed “Football Bowl Subdivision” (FBS), and Division I-AA was renamed “Football Championship Subdivision” (FCS). Recipients are selected by Jason Dannelly, founder and editor of Victory Sports Network, a leading authority on small college football. Dannelly works with a committee of experts across all smaller divisions to select the winners of the Rimington Award.


The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2.5 million for the cystic fibrosis community. The fifteen-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $100 million for CF Research. Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman. For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit www.rimingtontrop