Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month

Announcing the 2014 Rimington Trophy Finalists

12/08/2014 9:53 AM -

The finalists for the 2014 Rimington Trophy, presented to the most outstanding center in college football, are:

Jack Allen, Jr., Michigan State – named the Big Ten’s first-team center by bothcoaches and media after earning second team honors from the media as a sophomore last season.

David Andrews, Sr., Georgia – started a team high 39th consecutive game in his last home game, led a eighth nationally-ranked scoring offense and twelfth nationally-ranked rushing offense, and was captain ten out of twelve games.

Reese Dismukes, Sr., Auburn – A four-year starter at Auburn, has made 49 career starts, the third most starts in school history. Recently named an Outland Trophy finalist, Dismukes was a 2013 Rimington finalist and first-team All-SEC center after being named a freshman All-American in 2011. Has helped pave the way for an Auburn offense that has averaged 296 yards rushing during the last two seasons.

B.J. Finney, Sr., Kansas State – a three-year starter (all 51 career games with the last 50 at center), team captain, and All-Big 12 performer, B.J. is looking to become the second player in school history to garner four straight all-conference designations. Finney has helped lead a K-State offense that ranks in the top 25 nationally in ten categories. 

Andy Gallik, Sr., Boston College – a four-year starter, voted team captain in 2014, and was named to the All-ACC ASCMA first-team; Gallik is a 10-time BC offensive game champion and had 40 blocks in 2014.

Hroniss Grasu, Sr., Oregan – a three time first-team Pac-12 Conference all-league selection and was named the recipient of the Duck’s Ed Moshofsky Award as the team’s top offensive lineman.

The winner of the Rimington Trophy will be presented live during the ESPNU Red Carpet Show on Thursday, December 11, 2014, immediately preceding the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show. Both shows will originate from the Atlantic Dance Hall on Disney's Boardwalk at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

The winner of the Rimington Trophy is selected by determining the consensus All-American center pick from three existing All-America teams. While more than a dozen All-America teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee used these three prestigious teams to determine a winner:

  • Walter Camp Foundation (WCF)
  • Sporting News (SN)
  • Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)

Because the selectors of these three All-America teams can place centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11- man first teams can often have two centers. The Rimington Trophy committee's policy is to count all players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams as centers, even though they may be listed as guards or tackles on the four All- America teams. The center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the center with the most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by a majority vote from the Rimington Trophy committee.

The winner will be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on Saturday, January 17, 2015. To learn more about the Rimington Trophy, please visit

The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.


Media Contact: Michelle Pelini

[email protected], 646.292.7946