Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month


07/09/2013 10:00 AM -

The Rimington Trophy committee has released its 2013 Fall Watch List. The list includes 17 returning players from the 2012 Watch List. In all, there are 44 players on the Watch List. The SEC leads the way with nine players, while the Mountain West Conference checks in with six candidates, and the PAC-12 checks in with five.

The following is a list of those named to the 2013 Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List.

David Andrews Georgia 6'2" 295 Junior
Russell Bodine North Carolina 6'4" 310 Junior
Evan Boehm Missouri 6'3"; 315 Sophomore
Jake Brendel UCLA 6'4" 285 RS Sophomore
Betim Bujari Rutgers 6'4" 290 Junior
Ben Clarke Hawaii 6'3" 285 Sophomore
Sean Conway Western Kentucky 6'3" 305 Senior
Dillon Day Mississippi State 6'4" 295 RS Junior
Reese Dismukes Auburn 6'3"; 290 Junior
Dominic Espinosa Texas 6'4" 300 Junior
Dillon Farrell New Mexico 6'5" 300 Senior
Jay Finch Georgia Tech 6'3" 285 Senior
B.J. Finney Kansas State 6'4" 303 Junior
Matt Galas Nevada 6'1" 280 Junior
Bryce Giddens Arkansas State 6'0" 225 Sophomore
Hroniss Grasu Oregon 6'3" 297 Junior
Gus Handler Colorado 6'3" 290 Senior
Jonotthan Harrison Florida 6'3" 303 RS Senior
Andre Huval Louisiana-Lafayette 6'1" 290 Senior
Gabe Ikard Oklahoma 6'3" 298 RS Senior
Travis Jackson Michigan State 6'3" 283 Junior
David Kekuewa Bowling Green 6'2" 311 Senior
Ryan Kelly Alabama 6'5" 290 RS Sophomore
Zac Kerin Toledo 6'5" 300 Senior
Kody Koebensky Arizona State 6'3" 290 Graduate Student
Tyler Larsen Utah State 6'4" 312 Senior
Taylor Lasecki SMU 6'3" 288 Sophomore
Corey Linsley Ohio State 6'3" 297 Senior
Macky MacPherson Syracuse 6'2" 280 Senior
Mike Marboe Idaho 6'2" 301 Junior
Shane McDermott Miami 6'4" 296 Junior
Cole Pensick Nebraska 6'2" 275 Senior
Ryan Powis Army 6'0" 248 Junior
Bryce Redman Houston 6'1" 285 Junior
Austin Reiter USF 6'3" 273 RS Junior
Nate Richards Rice 6'4" 300 Senior
Weston Richburg Colorado State 6'4" 300 RS Senior
Isaac Seumalo Oregon State 6'3" 302 RS Senior
James Stone Tennessee 6'3" 300 Senior
Bryan Stork Florida State 6'4" 312 RS Senior
Travis Swanson Arkansas 6'5" 318 Senior
Evan Swindall Mississippi 6'4" 295 Senior
Valerian Ume-Ezeoke New Mexico State 6'2" 285 Junior
Brandon Vitabile Northwestern 6'3" 300 RS Junior
Robert Waterman UNLV 6'2" 290 Junior

While more than a dozen All-America football teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these four prestigious teams to determine a winner:



* American Football Coaches Association

* Walter Camp Foundation

* Sporting News

* Football Writers Association of America

Because the selectors of these four All-America teams can place Centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two Centers. Our policy is to count all players that play primarily the Center position for their respective teams as Centers, even though they maybe listed as guards or tackles on the four All American teams.

The Center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the Center with most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by the Rimington Trophy committee.


The winner will be honored at Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Nebraska on January 11, 2014.


About the Rimington Trophy

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2.5 million. The fourteen-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $100 million for CF Research.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.
For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit


About the NCFAA

The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.
The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fifteen of the association’s 21 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2013 preseason watch list calendar: Mon., July 8: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award

Tue., July 9: Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy

Wed., July 10: Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award

Thurs., July 11: Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy

Fri., July 12: Jim Thorpe Award

Mon., July 15: Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award

Tue., July 16: Biletnikoff Award

Wed., July 17: Davey O’Brien Award

Thurs., July 18: Doak Walker Award

Fri., July 19: Walter Camp Award