Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month

Winner 2023 Rimington Trophy

12/08/2023 4:27 PM -



University of Oregon Jackson Powers-Johnson Named 2023 Rimington Trophy Winner

New York, NY – Announced tonight on the virtual Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN, University of Oregon center Jackson Powers-Johnson has been named the 2023 Rimington Trophy winner, an award that marks him as the most outstanding center in division I football.

Upon learning that he won and explaining the key to having such a successful season, Powers-Johnson said, “having a good connection with all my teammates, an amazing quarterback, great coaching staff, and really just believing in each other. is what made it happen”

In his first season as Oregon’s starting center, Powers-Johnson has been the anchor of a UO offensive line that leads the nation in sacks allowed (5) for the second year in a row.

The Draper, Utah, native stared all 13 games and had an impressive season with a number of accolades. He was the only center selected as a semifinalist for the Outland Trophy. Additionally, he was named the Pac-12 Offensive Lineman of the Week twice during the regular season, and was a three-time winner of the Joe Moore Award Pancake of the Week. Led by Powers-Johnson, Oregon’s offensive line is No. 1 in the FBS with a 91.3 team pass-blocking grade from PFF. 

About Powers- Johnson receiving the honor, Head Coach Dan Lanning said “We are very proud of Jackson for earning this outstanding honor as the best center in college football. This is something he has put a tremendous amount of effort towards, and combined with his special talents the results speak for themselves. Jackson has done a terrific job for us this season, both on the field and as a leader within our program. He has grown so much as both a player and a person and is incredibly deserving of this award.”

Powers- Johnson was named College Football Network's Offensive Center of the Year, Offensive Lineman of the Year, and 1st Team Offensive Center of the Year. 

Oregon football Offensive Line Coach A'Lique Terry said, "There’s no one more deserving! I am proud of the work and leadership JPJ has shown since he stepped foot on campus, I remember talking with his dad during his recruiting about this very moment and for him to be here a few years later as the Rimington Trophy winner is a testament to his consistent work ethic and mindset to be his best self daily. Thankful and proud of JPJ for helping lead our room all year and being consistent in his play of physicality and dominance no matter the circumstances and it now leading to being known as the best center in the country. Forever grateful for JPJ!""

Powers-Johnson ranks above all FBS centers in pass-blocking grade (91.3), overall grade (83.2) and run-blocking grade (83.1) by PFF, and has allowed just one pressure in 471 pass-blocking opportunities. He will be leading the Ducks to an appearance at the Vrbo Fiesta Bowl Monday, Jan. 1, at State Farm Stadium in Glendale, AZ.


Selection Process

While more than a dozen All-America teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these three prestigious teams to determine a winner:

  • Walter Camp Foundation (WCF)
  • ·Sporting News (SN)
  • Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)

Because the selectors of these three All-America teams can place centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two centers. The Rimington Trophy committee's policy is to count all players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams as centers, even though they may be listed as guards or tackles on the All- America teams.

The center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the center with the most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by a majority vote from the Rimington Trophy Committee, provided with data from Pro Football Focus.


* * *

About the Rimington Trophy

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the most outstanding center in NCAA Division I College Football. Since its inception, the award has raised over $4.8 million for the Boomer Esiason Foundation. The 2023 Rimington Trophy recipient will be honored in at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, NE on January 13, 2024. To learn more about Dave Rimington, the trophy’s namesake, and the event, please visit

The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit to learn more about the association.


About the Boomer Esiason Foundation

In 1993, Boomer Esiason’s son, Gunnar, was diagnosed with cystic fibrosis (CF). Boomer and his wife Cheryl founded the Boomer Esiason Foundation to raise funds and awareness for the cystic fibrosis community. To date, the Foundation has raised over $160 million and works to provide educational and financial resources to help people living with CF in the here and now.


About Pro Football Focus

Since 2006, PFF has separated themselves from the pack in their ability to provide game-changing data supported through studying every player, on everyplay, of every game. In 2014, they began to do so for college football. In 2023, PFF's college analysts, led by Max Chadwick, supported the Rimington Trophy in creating the Watchlist.


Rimington Trophy Contact:

Rich Hahn


[email protected]