Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month

2019 Rimington Trophy Finalists Announced

12/08/2019 1:01 PM -

Rimington Trophy Finalists from Wisconsin, Temple, and Oklahoma Announced

Tyler Biadasz, Matt Hennessy, and Creed Humphrey named the top three Division I collegiate centers in the country



New York, NY – December 9, 2019


The Rimington Trophy Committee proudly announces and congratulates its 2019 finalists for the most outstanding center in college football. They are:


Tyler Biadasz, Wisconsin 

6’3  |  318  | JR

The latest in a line of outstanding offensive linemen from Wisconsin, junior center and team captain Tyler Biadasz calls the shots for a unit that once again is among the best in college football. The consensus first-team All-Big Ten selection and Outland Trophy finalist anchors a line that has powered the Badgers to more than 300 rushing yards in five games this season. With 40 consecutive starts to his credit, Biadasz is in his third season paving the way for record-setting running back Jonathan Taylor, who leads the country in scoring (26 touchdowns) and has rushed for more yards (6,080) in three seasons than any player in FBS history. Biadasz’s efforts in pass protection – he had allowed just two QB hits in 312 pass-blocking snaps entering the Big Ten Football Championship Game – are key to an efficient attack that has the Badgers completing 70.6% of their passes, the seventh-best mark in the FBS. A personal finance major, Biadasz is a three-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree.


Matt Hennessy, Temple 

6’4  |  295  | RS JR

In his third season as starter, Matt Hennessy is the captain of an experienced offensive line that has been one of the best in its conference. With his leadership, the line helped true freshman running back Re’Mahn Davis to a team-leading 900 rushing yards. Hennessy also allowed only four total pressures this season and no sacks in the 11 games he played. Throughout the season, he has been given various honors including First Team All-AAC, Second Team All-American, Weurffel Trophy Watch List, and the Offensive Player of the Game versus ECU. Off the field, Hennessy traveled to Japan for a week of football clinics, took a week-long class in Rome as a part of Temple’s STHM program, and graduated with a finance degree in Spring 2019.



Creed Humphrey, Oklahoma 

6’5  |  316  |  RS SO

Native Oklahoman Creed Humphrey has started 25 of his 27 career games for the Sooners at the center position. The redshirt sophomore is the anchor of a line that has paved the way for Oklahoma to lead the nation with 8.2 yards per play and 11.4 yards per pass attempt (min. 10 attempts per game) and rank second nationally in yards per game (554.2), third in yards per completion (16.0) and passing efficiency rating (195.9), fifth in third-down conversion percentage (50.7) and eighth in yards per rush (6.1). In 799 plays this season, Humphrey has registered 93 knockdowns without allowing a sack. On top of being named a Rimington Trophy finalist, he has been named Big 12 Co-Offensive Lineman of the Year, a first-team All-Big 12 selection and a first-team midseason All-American by ESPN, and was an Academic All-Big 12 Second Team honoree.


* * *


The winner of the Rimington Trophy will be presented live during the ESPNU Red Carpet Show on Thursday, December 12, 2019 immediately preceding the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show. Both shows will originate from the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Georgia.


The winner will also be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on Saturday, January 18, 2020. To learn more about the Rimington Trophy or to purchase tickets to the event, please visit


Selection Process

The winner of the Rimington Trophy is selected by determining the consensus All-American center pick from three existing All-America teams. While more than a dozen All-America teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy Committee uses these three prestigious teams to determine a winner:


  • Walter Camp Foundation (WCF)
  • Sporting News (SN)
  • Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)



About the Rimington Trophy

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the most outstanding center in NCAA Division I College Football. Since its inception, the twenty-year old award has raised over $4.45 million for the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis.


Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only two-time winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman. For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit


The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association. The NCFAA encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit to learn more about our story.



About the Boomer Esiason Foundation

In 1993, Gunnar Esiason – son of former NFL MVP quarterback Boomer Esiason – was diagnosed with cystic fibrosis. Cystic fibrosis is an inherited chronic disease that affects the lungs, digestive system, and reproductive system of about 30,000 Americans by causing a thick build-up of mucus that leads to blockage, inflammation, and infection.


Boomer and his wife Cheryl founded the Boomer Esiason Foundation to raise funds and awareness for the cystic fibrosis community. The Foundation has raised over $145 million to date. To learn more, visit



Rimington Trophy Contact:

Michelle Pelini


[email protected]