New York, NY --- Wednesday, October 14, 2020


The Rimington Trophy Committee adjusted its procedures with consideration to the COVID-19 pandemic, choosing to hold its 2020 watch list until play began and a plan was implemented across all Division I conferences. This year, it accepted all nominations from eligible Division I programs with the goal of highlighting as many collegiate centers as possible and showing the outstanding commitment of the following students athletes.


The 2020 Fall Watch List:


Conference     First Name  Last Name  Class Year Height  Weight 
  Boston College    Alec  Lindstrom JR 6'3 295
  Clemson   Cade Stewart  GRAD 6'3 305
  Georgia Tech   Mikey Minihan JR 6'3 307
  Louisville   Cole  Bentley  SR 6'5 306
  Miami (FL)   Corey Gaynor  RS JR 6'4 299
  North Carolina   Brian Anderson JR 6'2 300
  North Carolina State   Grant  Gibson  RS JR 6'1 300
  Notre Dame    Jarrett Patterson RS SO 6'4.5 305
  Pittsburgh   Jimmy Morrissey RS SR 6'3 305
  Syracuse   Carlos  Vettorello RS SO 6'4 289
  Virginia   Olusegun Oluwatimi JR 6'3 310
  Virginia Tech   Brock Hoffman RS JR 6'3 317
  Wake Forest   Michael Jurgens RS SO 6'4 295
  Cincinnati   Jakari Robinson JR 6'0 308
  SMU   Alan Ali JR 6'4 303
  Temple   C.J. Perez GRAD 6'1 287
  Tulane   Sincere Amaru Haynesworth SO 6'1 315
  Tulsa   Gerard  Wheeler  JR 6'3 325
  USF   Brad Cecil JR 6'4 307
Big 12              
  Iowa State   Colin Newell JR 6'4 304
  Kansas   Api Mane SR 6'3 320
  Kansas State   Noah Johnson SR 6'1 287
  Oklahoma   Creed Humphrey RS JR 6'5 320
  Oklahoma State   Ry Schneider RS SR 6'3 327
  TCU   Esteban Avila  SO 6'4 314
  Texas   Derek Kerstetter  SR 6'5 293
  Texas Tech   Dawson Deaton JR 6'6 305
Big Ten              
  Illinois   Doug  Kramer  SR 6'2 300
  Indiana   Harry Crider  SR 6'4 311
  Iowa   Tyler  Linderbaum SO 6'3 289
  Maryland    Johnny Jordan  SR 6'1 305
  Michigan State   Matt Allen RS SR 6'3 300
  Minnesota    John Michael Schmitz RS JR 6'4 320
  Nebraska   Cameron Jurgens  SO 6'3 285
  Ohio State   Josh Myers JR 6'5 312
  Penn State   Michal Menet RS SR 6'4 306
  Charlotte   Jaelin Fisher  RS SR 6'2 285
  FIU   Shane McGough RS SR 6'2 302
  Florida Atlantic   Nick  Weber  RS JR 6'3 296
  Louisiana Tech   Kody Ray Russey RS SR 6'1 290
  UAB   Andrew  Smith, Jr.  RS SR 6'1 310
  UTEP   Andrew  Meyer RS SO 6'5 295
  UTSA   Ahofitu Maka JR 6'3 320
  WKU   Seth Joest  RS SR 6'3 295
  Army   Connor  Bishop SO 6'3 290
  BYU   James  Empey  JR 6'4 300
  Liberty   Thomas  Sargeant  RS SR 6'1 295
  Massachusetts   Dalton Tomlison JR 6'5 310
  New Mexico State   Max Wilhite RS SO 6'4 300
  Buffalo   Mike  Novitsky  SO 6'5 295
  Eastern Michigan   Mike  Van Hoeven SR 6'5 305
  Kent State   Daniel Johnson RS SO 6'5 275
  Miami   Danny  Godlevske  SR 6'2 300
  Ohio   Brett Kitrell SR 6'3 302
  Toledo   Bryce Harris SR 6'3 292
  Western Michigan   Wesley  French  RS SR 6'5 295
  Colorado State   Cam Reddy RS JR 6'1 305
  Fresno State   Matt  Smith  SR 5'11 285
  Hawaii   Taaga Tuulima  SR 6'2 290
  New Mexico   Kyle  Stapley SR 6'3 298
  San Jose State   Kyle  Hoppe  SR 6'1 290
  Wyoming   Keegan Cryder  JR 6'4 309
  Arizona   Josh  McCauley RS SR 6'4 285
  California   Michael Saffell SR 6'2 290
  Colorado   Colby Pursell JR 6'4 305
  Oregon State   Nathan Eldridge RS SR 6'4 282
  Stanford   Drew  Dalman RS JR 6'3 286
  USC   Brett Neilon RS JR 6'2 305
  Utah   Orlando  Umana  SR 6'4 311
  Washington   Luke Wattenberg SR 6'5 297
  Alabama   Landon Dickerson RS SR 6'6 325
  Arkansas   Ricky  Stromberg  SO 6'4 311
  Auburn   Nick Brahms  JR 6'3 299
  Florida   Brett  Heggie  RS SR 6'5 321
  Georgia   Trey  Hill JR 6'4 330
  Kentucky   Drake Jackson SR 6'2 292
  LSU   Liam Shanahan SR-TR 6'5 304
  Mizzou   Michael Maietti RS SR 6'1 290
  Ole Miss   Ben Brown JR 6'5 315
  South Carolina   Eric  Douglas  RS JR 6'4 315
  Tennessee   Brandon  Kennedy  SR 6'3 301
  Texas A&M   Ryan McCollum GRAD 6'5 300
  Vanderbilt   Grant  Miller  SR 6'4 297
Sun Belt              
  App State   Noah Hannon SR 6'1 270
  Arkansas State   Jacob Still RS SR 6'1 296
  Coastal Carolina   Sam Thompson RS SR 5'9 290
  Georgia State   Malik Sumter RS JR 6'1 295
  Louisiana   Shane  Vallot RS JR 6'0 281
  South Alabama   Brian Ankerson SR 6'1 295
  Texas State   Reece  Jordan SR 6'3 275
  Troy   Dylan  Bradshaw SR 6'3 292


While more than a dozen All-America teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these three prestigious teams to determine a winner:


·       Walter Camp Foundation (WCF)

·       Sporting News (SN)

·       Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)



Because the selectors of these three All-America teams can place centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two centers. The Rimington Trophy committee's policy is to count all players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams as centers, even though they may be listed as guards or tackles on the All- America teams.


The center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the center with the most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by a majority vote from the Rimington Trophy committee. Because of COVID-19 and the ever-changing guidelines of in-person events, details of the annual presentation will be announced when confirmed.


* * *


About the Rimington Trophy

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the most outstanding center in NCAA Division I College Football. Since its inception, award has raised over $4.5 million for the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis.


Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only two-time winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman. For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit


The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit to learn more about the association.


About the Boomer Esiason Foundation

In 1993, Gunnar Esiason – son of former NFL MVP quarterback Boomer Esiason – was diagnosed with cystic fibrosis. Cystic fibrosis is an inherited chronic disease that affects the lungs, digestive system, and reproductive system of about 30,000 Americans by causing a thick build-up of mucus that leads to blockage, inflammation, and infection.


Boomer and his wife Cheryl founded the Boomer Esiason Foundation to raise funds and awareness for the cystic fibrosis community. The Foundation has raised over $150 million. Today, BEF offers scholarships, transplant grants, and other educational programs in an effort to assist CF patients and families in their daily lives. There have also been over 800 athletes who have competed in marathons, half marathons, and more to raise money and awareness for Team Boomer – the athletic division of the Foundation.


Rimington Trophy Contact:

Michelle Pelini


[email protected]