Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month

2020 Finalists

12/22/2020 11:33 AM -





Rimington Trophy Finalists from Alabama, Iowa, and The Ohio State University

Landon Dickerson, Tyler Linderbaum, and Josh Myers named the top three Division I collegiate centers in the country


New York, NY – December 22, 2020  

The Rimington Trophy Committee proudly announces and congratulates its 2020 finalists for the most outstanding center in college football. They are:


Landon Dickerson, Alabama

Landon Dickerson has added his name to the long list of outstanding centers in Alabama history with a dominant 2020 season. He was the top-rated run-blocking center according to Pro Football Focus and the anchor of the Crimson Tide’s offensive front that was named a finalist for the Joe Moore Award. Dickerson is a veteran of 24 career starts in his two years at Alabama, including the last 20 at center. Alabama coaches have credited Dickerson with zero sacks allowed and only one quarterback pressure surrendered in 725 snaps this season, while missing only two assignments.


Tyler Linderbaum, Iowa

Tyler Linderbaum, a Solon, Iowa native, started all eight games in the 2020 season for the Hawkeyes, anchoring an offensive line that is averaging 31.8 points per game – the second most in the Big Ten – and that was named a semifinalist for the Joe Moore Award. Under his leadership, the offensive line led the way for sophomore running back Tyler Goodson to rank second in the Big Ten in rushing yards. Linderbaum was named first-team All-Big Ten by Big Ten media and the AP and first-team All-America by Pro Football Focus. Iowa has had two previous finalists:  Bruce Nelson in 2002 and Austin Blythe in 2015.


Josh Myers, The Ohio State University

Josh Myers has been a force at center for the Buckeyes in 2020. He was named first-team All-Big Ten Conference for the four-time defending Big Ten champions. He’s helped the Buckeyes to a Top 5 national ranking, and first in the Big Ten, in rushing with 275.7 yards per game, an average that includes three consecutive 300-plus yard games the last three games and a per game average of 342.0 during that streak. Myers also is a leader of an Ohio State offense that is the only offense in the Power Five that averages at least 250 yards rushing and passing per game.


The winner of the Rimington Trophy will be announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards on January 7, 2020 at 7:00PM EST.


Because of the COVID-19 pandemic and for the health and safety of attendees, the winner will also be recognized during a Virtual Rimington Trophy presentation on March 13, 2020. To learn more about the Trophy, please visit


Selection Process

While more than a dozen All-America teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these three prestigious teams to determine a winner:




·       Walter Camp Foundation (WCF)

·       Sporting News (SN)

·       Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)


Because the selectors of these three All-America teams can place centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two centers. The Rimington Trophy committee's policy is to count all players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams as centers, even though they may be listed as guards or tackles on the All- America teams.


The center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the center with the most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by a majority vote from the Rimington Trophy committee.



About the Rimington Trophy

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the most outstanding center in NCAA Division I College Football. Since its inception, award has raised over $4.5 million for the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis.


Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only two-time winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman. For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit


The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit to learn more about the association.


About the Boomer Esiason Foundation

After their son’s cystic fibrosis diagnosis in 1993, Boomer and Cheryl Esiason founded the Boomer Esiason Foundation to raise funds and awareness for the cystic fibrosis community. Today, BEF offers scholarships, transplant grants, and other educational programs in an effort to assist CF patients and families in their daily lives. There have also been over 800 athletes who have competed in marathons, half marathons, and more to raise money and awareness for Team Boomer – the athletic division of the Foundation.


Cystic fibrosis is an inherited chronic disease that affects the lungs, digestive system, and reproductive system of about 30,000 Americans by causing a thick build-up of mucus that leads to blockage, inflammation, and infection. To learn more about the Foundation, please visit


Rimington Trophy Contact:

Michelle Pelini


[email protected]