Archived News

2011 Rimington Trophy Finalists Announced

12/05/2011 1:00 PM -

Finalists for the Rimington Trophy, presented to the outstanding center in college football, are:

Dalton Freeman (Clemson)

Grant Garner (Oklahoma State)

Ben Jones (Georgia)

Peter Konz (Wisconsin)

David Molk (Michigan)

William Vlachos (Alabama)

The winner of the Rimington Trophy will be announced during the Red Carpet Show immediately prior to the ESPNU/Home Depot College Football Awards Show and broadcast live from Orlando, Florida on ESPN on Thursday, December 8, 2011.

The winner of the Rimington Trophy is selected by determining the consensus All-American center pick from four existing All-America teams.

While more than a dozen All-America teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these four prestigious teams to determine a winner:

*American Football Coaches Association (AFCA)
*Walter Camp Foundation (WCF)
*Sporting News (SN)
*Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)

Because the selectors of these four All-America teams can place centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11- man first teams can often have two centers. The Rimington Trophy committee's policy is to count all players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams as centers, even though they may be listed as guards or tackles on the four All- America teams.

The center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the center with the most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by a majority vote from the Rimington Trophy committee.

The winner will be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on Saturday, January 14, 2012.

Seth Gonzales

Search Archive »