Archived News

2012 Fall Watch List Announced

07/10/2012 8:59 AM -

The Rimington Trophy committee has released its 2012 Fall Watch List.

The list includes 21 returning players from the 2011 Watch List. In all, there are 51 players on the Watch List. The Southeastern Conference leads the way with ten players. The Big Ten follows with six players, while the ACC, Conference USA, Mountain West Conference, and the PAC-12 all check in with five players each. In addition, there are two graduate students and eight sophomores on the Watch List.


The following is a list of those named to the 2012 Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List.

Eloy Atkinson UTEP 6'3" 315 Senior
Mario Benavides Louisville 6'4" 301 RS Senior
Nick Carlson Wyoming 6'4"; 292 Senior
Braxston Cave Notre Dame 6'3" 304 Graduate Student
Dillon Day Mississippi State 6'4" 295 RS Sophomore
Reese Dismukes Auburn 6'3" 302 Sophomore
Trent Dupy Tulsa 6'2" 285 Senior
Dillon Farrell New Mexico 6'5" 290 Junior
James Ferentz Iowa 6'2" 284 Senior
Jay Finch Georgia Tech 6'3"; 283 RS Junior
B.J. Finney Kansas State 6'4" 303 Sophomore
Travis Frederick Wisconsin 6'4" 328 Junior
Dalton Freeman Clemson 6'5" 285 Graduate Student
James Fry TCU 6'3" 290 Senior
Kevin Galeher Western Michigan 6'3" 300 Senior
Hronis Grasu Oregon 6'3" 284 Sophomore
Ben Habern Oklahoma 6'4" 292 Senior
Gus Handler Colorado 6'3" 295 Junior
Jonotthan Harrison Florida 6'3" 309 RS Junior
Khaled Holmes USC 6'4" 305 Senior
Andre Huval Louisiana-Lafayette 6'1" 290 Junior
Alec Johnson San Diego State 6'3" 300 Senior
T.J. Johnson South Carolina 6'6" 319 Senior
Barrett Jones Alabama 6'5" 302 Senior
Zac Kerin Toledo 6'5" 300 Junior
Tyler Larsen Utah State 6'4" 308 Junior
Patrick Lewis Texas A&M 6'2" 306 Senior
P.J. Lonergan LSU 6'4" 305 Senior
Macky MacPherson Syracuse 6'2" 269 Junior
Joe Madsen West Virginia 6'4" 310 RS Senior
Mike Marboe Idaho 6'2" 301 Sophomore
Will Matte Indiana 6'2" 290 RS Senior
Blake McJunkin SMU 6'2" 305 Senior
Andrew Miller Virginia Tech 6'4" 300 RS Junior
Brian Moore Duke 6'2" 285 RS Senior
Graham Pocic Illinois 6'7" 305 Senior
Ryan Powis Army 6'0" 257 Sophomore
Austin Quattrochi Southern Mississippi 6'3" 295 RS Senior
Jordan Rae UCF 6'2" 275 Senior
Weston Richburg Colorado State 6'4" 297 Junior
Sam Schartzstein Stanford 6'3" 290 Senior
Matt Smith Kentucky 6'4" 296 Senior
Matt Stankiewitch Penn State 6'3" 295 Senior
Tevita Stevens Utah 6'3" 302 Senior
Travis Swanson Arkansas 6'5" 305 Junior
Evan Swindall Ole Miss 6'2" 300 Junior
Ryan Turnley Pittsburgh 6'6" 320 Senior
Brandon Vitabile Northwestern 6'3" 300 Sophomore
Stephen Warner Louisiana Tech 6'0" 295 RS Senior
Robert Waterman UNLV 6'2" 290 Sophomore
Camden Wentz NC State 6'3" 225 Senior

While more than a dozen All-America football teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these four prestigious teams to determine a winner:


* American Football Coaches Association

* Walter Camp Foundation

* Sporting News

* Football Writers Association of America


Because the selectors of these four All-America teams can place Centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two Centers. Our policy is to count all players that play primarily the Center position for their respective teams as Centers, even though they maybe listed as guards or tackles on the four All American teams.


The Center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the Center with most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by the Rimington Trophy committee.


The winner will be honored at Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Nebraska on January 12, 2013.


Seth Gonzales

Rimington Trophy Media


About the Rimington Trophy

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2 million. The twelve-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $100 million for CF Research.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.
For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit


About the NCFAA

The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website,



The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fifteen of the association’s 21 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates.

The following is the complete 2012 preseason watch list calendar:

Mon., July 9: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award

Tue., July 10: Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy

Wed., July 11: Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award

Thurs., July 12: Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy

Fri., July 13: Jim Thorpe Award

Mon., July 16: Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award

Tue., July 17: Biletnikoff Award

Wed., July 18: Davey O’Brien Award

Thurs., July 19: Doak Walker Award


Fri., July 20: Walter Camp Award

Search Archive »